Recipe for Fairy Cakes, for dear April x

 

Decorated Fairy Cakes
Decorated Fairy Cakes

Makes 24: (Basic Victoria Sponge recipe)
Weigh 2 large free range eggs in their shells. (Usually about 4 and a half ounces)
Use that weight to measure out the same amount of seived self raising flour,  sugar (I use soft brown), and soft butter or spread, (I put them into separate dishes ready for the cake making…). You might wish to add vanilla essence, almond essence or your favourite flavouring?

Cream butter and sugar together in a mixing bowl, until light and fluffy.

Break eggs into jug and whisk together.

Add the eggs to the butter and sugar mixture, a little at a time, beating furiously (!) after each addition. (Add a little seived flour if it starts to curdle, then go back to adding the eggs).

Add any flavouring you are using, mix in well.

Fold in the flour, then spoon the mixture into paper cases.

Bake in the upper third of the oven for about , ovens vary, so keep an eye on them and shorten or extend the time as required : ) 10 to 14 mins  at Gas mark 5, think that’s about 375 F 190C

After cooling decorate with icing.  On the cakes pictured, I used roll-out icing. For one half of the cakes ,I  cut out pretty flower shapes in two sizes. White and pink. I layered these , a small pink one on top of a big white one on each cake, adding an icing coloured flower on top of each. For the other half of the batch of fairy buns, I put half a glacé cherry in the centre of each cool cake, I cut out circles of roll-out icing, then cut a cross in the centre of each circle. I then placed a circle of ehite icing on top of each cake, over the cherry and eased the cross to open, until the cherry was just poking through. (I used alittle apricot jam to secure all the the roll-out icing shapes to the cakes).

Enjoy! (And don’t forget to add all the flour, don’t miss some out like I did ! Lol! )
love Julie x

4 thoughts on “Recipe for Fairy Cakes, for dear April x

  1. Oh my goodness! Thank you, Julie! They are sooooo pretty. We have Teas at The Center, where I spend a lot of my time, and maybe I can master these for one of them. xxapril

    Like

Leave a Reply

